All posts by admin

IBPSA – Australasia Notice of Annual General Meeting

5-7pm 21 July , Aurecon 850 Collins St, Docklands Melbourne

You will be met at ground floor and taken to meeting – please note access will be closed from 5:15pm (due to building security requirements)

The purpose of the AGM, which is the first AGM since the incorporation of the Association in Australia, will be to:

  • Elect Board Members (4 positions)
  • Establish strategic directions (what do we want out of IBPSA)
  • Establish activities for 2014-2015
  • Consider our alliances and relationships with other associations.

All IBPSA members are invited to attend and participate.  Please email if you wish to attend.

If you wish to nominate for a Board position please download the form here: IBPSA 2014 AGM – Call for Board Nominations

Dr Paul Bannister

A Beginner’s Guide to Better Simulations

This “Beginner’s Guide” is intended to provide basic advice on areas of simulation that are most often troublesome for beginners and experienced simulators alike, based on the experience of reviewing many simulations and simulation reports over the past 15 years. In many cases there may be other approaches to the issues discussed; however the guidance in this article is intended to provide the modeller with inspiration and insights from which they can develop the right solution for a particular model.

The paper is arranged by topics starting from geometry – which is typically the first task the modeller has to address – through to HVAC controls, which can be challenging even for experienced simulators.

Dr Paul Bannister, M.AIRAH, Energy Action (Incoporating Exergy Australia)

Download article here: 05-14-Eco-007

ASim2014 Call for Abstracts

The 2nd Asia conference of International Building Performance Simulation Association, ASim2014, will take place November 28-29, 2014 in Nagoya, Japan. ASim2014 is being organized by IBPSA-Japan. Nagoya University will host the conference. This biennial conference will provide a platform for professionals, designers, engineers and students exchanging ideas, knowledge and information about building performance simulation. The Call for Abstract is now open and the abstract submission deadline is May 26th, 2014. Please visit the conference website for further information.

Download the latest IBPSA April 2014 Newsletter

IBPSA News Volume 24 No 1 is now available for free at

  • Interviews with Phil Haves and Michael Wetter;
  • Software news (new IEA Annex 66 on simulating occupant behaviour in buildings, Mr Comfy, CiMO, MOBO, and a new version of LBNL’s BCVTB)
  • Global community news from IBPSA affiliates in England, France, Italy, Korea, Netherlands & Flanders, the Nordic countries, Singapore, Switzerland and the USA
  • IBPSA related events, e.g. 18 conferences and other events for your diary.

BauSIM 2014 Call for Papers

With the main topic “Human-Centred Building”, next IBPSA-Germany and Austria conference BauSIM2014 will take place from September 22 – 24, 2014 in Aachen, Germany. The town of Aachen (Aix-la-Chapelle) is located at the three country border of Belgium, The Netherlands and Germany. The event is hosted by RWTH Aachen University.

Abstracts are due 30. April 2014.

Conference website:

IBPSA 2013 Conference Papers are now online

The IBPSA 2013 Conference Papers are now online in an easily accessible format.

- 487 papers presented in 295 sessions, and 192 posters.

An absolute treasure trove, and it’s hard to believe it’s at no cost..

For example, sessions included :-

ND – New developments in simulation
DP – Influence of simulation on the design process
SR – Simulation vs reality
CS – Case studies: exemplary buildings
VC – Validation, calibration, and uncertainty
HB – Human behavior
BP-5 – Building physics: airflow
BP-6 – Building physics: envelope

Abstracts now due – 2014 ASHRAE/IBPSA-USA Building Simulation Conference

ASHRAE/IBPSA-USA Building Simulation Conference:

Subject: 2014 ASHRAE/IBPSA-USA Building Simulation Conference — Abstracts due Nov. 4

Reminder –

The 2014 ASHRAE/IBPSA-USA Building Simulation Conference will be held September 10 – 12, 2014 in Atlanta, GA.   The conference merges the IBPSA-USA SimBuild and ASHRAE Energy Modeling Conferences.

There are two ways to participate –
* Reviewed and published papers.  400 word abstracts are due Nov. 4, 2013.
* Non-paper presentations.  A call for presentation proposals will be issued shortly.

For details and abstract submission procedures, see .

Proposed Q&A site for energy modelers, architects, LEED AP, mechanical engineers, building scientists, and researchers

Here is a group looking to create a website that we can all use to improve our contact/communication and sharing of Building Simulation – what do you think?

Here is a link to the site:

Voting on questions is how the simulation community prove to the people hosting the site that our community has a well defined topic and scope to warrant a site specifically for questions about “Building Performance Simulation & Analysis”.

Interested in your thoughts!